Challenge week six

DIVING BOARD

You’ve been up on that diving board

Making sure that it’s nice and straight.

You’ve made sure that it’s not too slick.

You’ve made sure it can stand the weight.

You’ve made sure that the spring is tight.

You’ve made sure that the cloth won’t slip.

You’ve made sure that it bounces right,

And that your toes can get a grip—

And you’ve been up there since half past five

Doin’ everything . . . but DIVE.

~Shel Silverstein

This is my favorite poem of all time. The poem describes exactly how I feel when I’m about jump off a diving board. The first time I head this poem I couldn’t stop reading it to myself. I even printed a copy of it and hung it up in my room. It describes the feeling of being up on a high diving board perfectly.

One thought on “Challenge week six

  1. This poem is super great. I’m a diver too and I know the feeling that if you will slap the water and the anticipation is crazy, but it is still super fun. I was wondering what is the highest you have dive or jumped off of. Keep up the interesting posts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *