Tennis Tournament

The sun was brightly shinning that summer day.

“Heads or tails”, the official asked.

“Tails” , I said.

My prediction of the coin toss was right, I then decided I wanted to receive the ball first. My hands were already sweating a bit.

This was was the Championship.

I was even more stressed because I was playing against one of my former soccer teammate. This didn’t stop me from losing my determination from winning. I then got low in ready position. The first ball came towards me I hit with no aggression. But then the ball came back to me, I then sung with 60% of my power.

I succeeded.

Throughout the game their were many many rallies back and forth. I won the 1st game… 2nd game… 3rd game and all every other game until the 6th game.The six game my opponent beat me, but I was able to win the 7th game. I won that set 6-1. I just needed to win one more set for my victory.

My opponent and I took about 7 minutes for a quick break. Then we headed back on the court to finish the match up.

But this time she was on a winning strike, game one went by then two and three and four. I tried to put my head in the game. I then won a game. The score was now 1-4. I kind- of guessed this set was going to be a “toughly”. My predication was incorrect though, I was able to catch up to her, it was 4-4 now. The wind was blowing in now. This meant good and bad. She was able to beat me in the 9th game, with the wind helping her curve her balls. All she needed was one more game to tie the sets. I just need to win two more games. I won the next game with putting everything I had left. It was getting real intense now. Once we started the 11th game, she was starting to lose much of her energy while I was filled with a little bit more energy then her. The 11th game want to me. Now, I just need ONE MORE GAME.

It was my turn to serve too. I tossed the ball up in the air and then swung down. I missed, it landed out. I tried again with my second serve… it didn’t make it in. Game score was: 0-15. She served and it landed in her first try. I was able to return it to her, but I had the return tricky. I gave her a short ball to run to and she wasn’t able to return it back. Game score: 15 all. I served and aced it, which gave me an automatic point. Game score: 30-15. I served again and she returned it as a long ball, I backed up and swung for a return back. She then got in position and swung hard, but her ball landed out, by an inch. Game score: 40-15. My serve still. I tossed the ball straight up and got my grip in a firm position and swung. She returned it back to me smoothly then I returned it smoothly. All of a sudden she started coming up to the net. I put my arm high in the air, in a position to give her a overhead and I did it!
I won my 3rd Tournament of that summer!

2 thoughts on “Tennis Tournament

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *